GNOME Bugzilla – Bug 684964
Default directory in save dialog is "Recently Used"
Last modified: 2012-09-27 16:02:14 UTC
The default directory when selecting "Save as" in apps like gedit or GIMP is "Recently Used."
This doesn't make much sense, because "Recently Used" isn't a location where you can save a file. The only time this panel makes sense is if you're overwriting a file you've recently used, which is almost certainly the minority case.
Save dialogs should default to a user's home directory.
Thanks for the bug report. This particular bug has already been reported into our bug tracking system, but please feel free to report any further bugs you find.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 658280 ***