GNOME Bugzilla – Bug 489977
Last modified: 2008-04-13 21:57:13 UTC
If you press the window close [x] on empathy's main window, empathy will minimize to tray. If you press Chat->Quit, empathy will quit and close and log out any account. What if you want the accounts to stay logged in and just want to close the contact list and tray icon? IMHO we need Chat->Close, which would just close the empathy main window, but keep all connections. If a message is received, the message window can pop open.
But if you close the status icon, user has no way to know his presence, he will expect to be offline if nothing notify him he is still online...
I was under the impression that Empathy is meant to be more like a system service than apps like Pidgin? Compared to network manager for example, the network connection doesn't drop when you kill the GUI part (nm-applet).
My use case was this: I add the NotHere applet to my panel and just want to get message windows when people write me. Sometimes, rarely, I have the need to see the contact list: in this case I would just use the launcher to start it. But after doing there what I wanted to do, I want to get rid of it. If I press the window close button, empathy minimizes to tray and I have two status notifications now (one in tray, one in applet). If I press Quit, empathy exits and also the applet gets logged out :(
This is the same issue as the one discussed in "Incorrect use of notification icon" (bug 467829), marking this bug as a duplicate so discussion can take place in a single place.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 467829 ***