After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 785114 - omx: add support backward compatibility at runtime
omx: add support backward compatibility at runtime
Status: RESOLVED INVALID
Product: GStreamer
Classification: Platform
Component: gst-omx
git master
Other Linux
: Normal normal
: 1.13.1
Assigned To: GStreamer Maintainers
GStreamer Maintainers
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
 
Reported: 2017-07-19 10:13 UTC by Julien Isorce
Modified: 2017-08-21 13:46 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: ---



Description Julien Isorce 2017-07-19 10:13:39 UTC
For example we might want to compile gst-omx with omx-il-1.2.0 headers but still be able to load Bellagio components which are 1.1.2

But currently in gst-omx/omx/gstomx.h there is:

#define GST_OMX_INIT_STRUCT(st) G_STMT_START { \
  memset ((st), 0, sizeof (*(st))); \
  (st)->nSize = sizeof (*(st)); \
  (st)->nVersion.s.nVersionMajor = OMX_VERSION_MAJOR; \
  (st)->nVersion.s.nVersionMinor = OMX_VERSION_MINOR; \
  (st)->nVersion.s.nRevision = OMX_VERSION_REVISION; \
  (st)->nVersion.s.nStep = OMX_VERSION_STEP; \
} G_STMT_END

which prevents the use the same libgstomx.so binary to load OpenMAX components with different versions. For example Bellagio returns OMX_ErrorVersionMismatch if nVersionMajor and nVersionMinor are not set to exactly 1 and 1

One solution is to call OMX_GetComponentVersion(&gstomxcomp->nVersion) when loading a component, and change GST_OMX_INIT_STRUCT to:

#define GST_OMX_INIT_STRUCT(st,comp) G_STMT_START { \
  memset ((st), 0, sizeof (*(st))); \
  (st)->nSize = sizeof (*(st)) + sizeof(OMX_STRING); \
  (st)->nVersion = comp->nVersion; \
} G_STMT_END
Comment 1 Julien Isorce 2017-07-19 11:53:52 UTC
Also to clarify, in current upstream there is *no* breakage (for example due to recent commits). This bug entry is about adding more runtime flexibility.
Comment 2 Nicolas Dufresne (ndufresne) 2017-07-19 15:14:34 UTC
This can't be a blocker as it only happens when you build Tizonia target (Tizonia is 1.2 only)
Comment 3 Julien Isorce 2017-08-21 13:46:11 UTC
See https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=783976#c8