After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 641877 - Workspace thumbnail hover with monitor to the right
Workspace thumbnail hover with monitor to the right
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: gnome-shell
Classification: Core
Component: general
unspecified
Other Linux
: Normal normal
: ---
Assigned To: gnome-shell-maint
gnome-shell-maint
: 643326 643848 644748 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks: 645023
 
 
Reported: 2011-02-08 22:30 UTC by Owen Taylor
Modified: 2011-03-21 17:49 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: 3.0
GNOME version: ---


Attachments
workspacesView: clip WorkspacesDisplay to allocation (1001 bytes, patch)
2011-03-17 00:44 UTC, Maxim Ermilov
rejected Details | Review
Always show the workspace thumbnails if there is a monitor to the right (2.47 KB, patch)
2011-03-18 13:51 UTC, Alexander Larsson
needs-work Details | Review
Always show the workspace thumbnails if there is a monitor to the right (2.87 KB, patch)
2011-03-21 15:58 UTC, Alexander Larsson
committed Details | Review

Description Owen Taylor 2011-02-08 22:30:18 UTC
Currently with workspace thumbnails, if there's a monitor to the right of the primary monitor, the controls just slide over onto that monitor. We could use clipping to keep them from going past the edge, but I don't think the hover slide-out behavior is useful without a Fitts-law edge. My proposal would be that in multi-monitor, we just always have the workspace thumbnails visible on the Windows tab without any hover behavior.

(Possibly modified by whatever we end up doing to make workspaces less prominent if you only have 1 of them)
Comment 1 kkunjas 2011-02-18 08:55:00 UTC
well i think that clipping the thumnail view to the first/ active display is a better solution, because usualy on dual/multi monitor setups the thumbnail is much wider and takes a lot of space from the window previews.
Comment 2 Owen Taylor 2011-02-18 14:01:36 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> well i think that clipping the thumnail view to the first/ active display is a
> better solution, because usualy on dual/multi monitor setups the thumbnail is
> much wider and takes a lot of space from the window previews.

I think we'll only have the workspace preview show the items from that monitor.
Comment 3 Florian Müllner 2011-02-25 19:42:18 UTC
*** Bug 643326 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 4 Florian Müllner 2011-03-04 10:04:14 UTC
*** Bug 643848 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 5 Rui Matos 2011-03-14 18:09:52 UTC
*** Bug 644748 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 6 Maxim Ermilov 2011-03-17 00:44:51 UTC
Created attachment 183598 [details] [review]
workspacesView: clip WorkspacesDisplay to allocation

need to solve this before 3.0.

> I think we'll only have the workspace preview show the items from that monitor
why? It greatly increase complexity of dragging windows between workspaces (for slave monitor)
Comment 7 Florian Müllner 2011-03-17 14:26:38 UTC
Review of attachment 183598 [details] [review]:

This approach is already part of bug 609258, which should land today. If we decide to not change the popout behavior, this bug can be dup'ed.
Comment 8 Alexander Larsson 2011-03-17 14:31:04 UTC
The clipping is now landed, but I think a better approach is to have the thumbnails always visible when there is a monitor to the right of the primary.
Comment 9 Sri Ramkrishna 2011-03-17 18:27:37 UTC
have you considered edge resistance?  Which will of course allow you to go to the other monitor.  Personally, I don't see any reason to move your mouse to the other monitor in overlay.  Currently, the only action that happens on that other monitor is zooming back to the desktop which I can do without having to move my monitor clear to the other side.
Comment 10 A.S. Boerema 2011-03-18 13:02:16 UTC
@Sri: I do not completely agree with you here. Windows that I have dragged to the other monitor will appear there in overlay mode, so there is sometimes a need to move the mouse there.

I've just tested the new git version and I have to say that things have improved a lot already.

One suggestion for further optimalization could be that you take in to account the speed of the mouse when moving over the desktop thumbnails.

Only start sliding in the desktop thumbs if the movement speed of the pointer is decreasing, with the following rationale:
*a decrease of movings speed indicates that the user wanted to go to the thumbs -->start sliding them in
* == or > in speed indicates that the user wants to go the the second screen --> do not slide in the thumbs.
Comment 11 Alexander Larsson 2011-03-18 13:51:20 UTC
Created attachment 183718 [details] [review]
Always show the workspace thumbnails if there is a monitor to the right

If there is a monitor to the right it is very easy to overshot the
expanding thumbnails and enter the next monitor. So, in that case
we just always show it.
Comment 12 Florian Müllner 2011-03-21 12:04:55 UTC
Review of attachment 183718 [details] [review]:

Code looks mostly good, just a little oversight regarding updating _alwaysZoomedOut when the monitor configuration changes. We probably should get designers' opinion as well before landing this.

::: js/ui/workspacesView.js
@@ +602,3 @@
+        for (let i = 0; i < monitors.length; i++) {
+            if (monitors[i].x >= primary.x + primary.width) {
+                this._alwaysZoomOut = true;

The property won't get updated when monitors are plugged in/out - you should move that code to a function and call it both in _init() and as handler to the 'monitors-changed' signal.

@@ +659,3 @@
+        if (this._alwaysZoomOut) {
+            this._zoomOut = true;
+            this._zoomFraction = 1;

I'd probably write this as

  this._zoomOut = this._alwaysZoomOut;
  this._zoomFraction = this._alwaysZoomOut ? 1 : 0;

but OK as-is ...
Comment 13 Alexander Larsson 2011-03-21 15:58:34 UTC
Created attachment 183955 [details] [review]
Always show the workspace thumbnails if there is a monitor to the right

If there is a monitor to the right it is very easy to overshot the
expanding thumbnails and enter the next monitor. So, in that case
we just always show it.
Comment 14 Florian Müllner 2011-03-21 16:04:01 UTC
Review of attachment 183955 [details] [review]:

Looks good!
Comment 15 Florian Müllner 2011-03-21 17:49:34 UTC
Attachment 183955 [details] pushed as b2df3fc - Always show the workspace thumbnails if there is a monitor to the right