After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 620775 - [Overview] Fade dash menus
[Overview] Fade dash menus
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: gnome-shell
Classification: Core
Component: general
unspecified
Other All
: Normal normal
: ---
Assigned To: gnome-shell-maint
gnome-shell-maint
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
 
Reported: 2010-06-06 21:42 UTC by Florian Müllner
Modified: 2010-06-09 15:07 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: ---


Attachments
[Overview] Fade dash menus (4.54 KB, patch)
2010-06-06 21:42 UTC, Florian Müllner
committed Details | Review

Description Florian Müllner 2010-06-06 21:42:14 UTC
See patch. The constant in Overlay is pretty unfortunate, but
 - the menus are defined in different places
 - we probably want to fade the lightbox as well

The alternative of having different constants which we assume to be the same is not very appealing either ...
Comment 1 Florian Müllner 2010-06-06 21:42:18 UTC
Created attachment 162889 [details] [review]
[Overview] Fade dash menus

As the design calls for smooth transitions whenever possible, use
a similar fade effect for the all-apps and more-docs menus as for
the panel menus.
Comment 2 drago01 2010-06-06 23:56:11 UTC
Review of attachment 162889 [details] [review]:

Looks good, minor comment that you can just ignore.

::: js/ui/appDisplay.js
@@ +195,3 @@
+                             });
+        } else {
+            this.actor.opacity = 0;

I fail to see how this could ever be non 0 here ... but well isn't a big deal anyway.

::: js/ui/dash.js
@@ +84,2 @@
         this.emit('open-state-changed', this._open);
+        this.actor.opacity = 0;

Same applies here in case you decide to change it and I didn't miss anything.

::: js/ui/overview.js
@@ +26,3 @@
 
+// Time for pane menus to fade in/out
+const PANE_FADE_TIME = 0.1;

As you said this seems the only sane approach here.
Comment 3 Florian Müllner 2010-06-07 00:31:46 UTC
(In reply to comment #2)
> I fail to see how this could ever be non 0 here ... but well isn't a big deal
> anyway.

It is at least once when opening the menu for the first time - the call to actor.hide() in _init() only affects actor.visible, not actor.opacity.

Anyway, it looks a little weird without fading the lightbox as well, so push should wait for bug 602466.
Comment 4 drago01 2010-06-07 10:19:04 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> (In reply to comment #2)
> > I fail to see how this could ever be non 0 here ... but well isn't a big deal
> > anyway.
> 
> It is at least once when opening the menu for the first time - the call to
> actor.hide() in _init() only affects actor.visible, not actor.opacity.

Ah OK.

> Anyway, it looks a little weird without fading the lightbox as well, so push
> should wait for bug 602466.

Yeah that makes sense.
Comment 5 Florian Müllner 2010-06-09 15:07:50 UTC
Attachment 162889 [details] pushed as 88be8e8 - [Overview] Fade dash menus