After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 591364 - Certain characters do not wrap.
Certain characters do not wrap.
Status: VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 131625
Product: gtk+
Classification: Platform
Component: Widget: GtkTextView
2.16.x
Other All
: Normal major
: ---
Assigned To: gtk-bugs
gtk-bugs
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
 
Reported: 2009-08-10 19:54 UTC by Erik Xian
Modified: 2010-04-19 01:09 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: ---



Description Erik Xian 2009-08-10 19:54:19 UTC
Please describe the problem:
When certain characters ([, ], (, ), {, }, ;, :, ,, ., !, ?, ¡, ¿, /, ' ' (space) and — (em dash)) are repeated enough times to evoke a line break, the GtkTextView does not wrap them.

Although this functionality is beneficial in sane environments where the above characters are not expected to be repeated more than three times, applications that use GtkTextView in an environment where wrapping is preferred (Pidgin, IRC clients, etc.) have their windows either stretched—occasionally beyond the size of the screen—or a horizontal scrollbar appears, which then requires the user to scroll to read text.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Open up gedit, Pidgin or any other application that uses a GtkTextView for input.
2. Hold down the '[' key in the widget.

Actual results:
Rather than breaking the line, the GtkTextView expands horizontally.

Expected results:
When used in a typographical context, [](){};:,.!?¡¿/ — should be affected by wrapping the way regular characters are.

Does this happen every time?
Yes.

Other information:
The following is a PyGTK example that creates a window with a GtkTextView embedded in it to demonstrate.

#!/usr/bin/python

import gtk

window = gtk.Window()
window.set_default_size(80, 60)
window.connect('destroy', gtk.main_quit)
window.add(gtk.TextView())
window.child.set_wrap_mode(gtk.WRAP_CHAR)
window.show_all()

gtk.main()
Comment 1 Ethan Anderson 2009-08-26 17:24:25 UTC
this bug affects me too
Comment 2 Sam 2009-10-07 17:04:56 UTC
I am also seeing this issue, was trying to use the textview to log data from a background task, which is not very useful without wrapping since the BG task runs scripts which output a lot of periods.

To work around this I either have to modify a large number of scripts to stop outputting periods, or allow the text view to have a scrollbar. Neither are desirable workarounds.

My environment is Ubuntu 8.10, Ruby/GTK bindings - would be willing to help someone collect debugging data / etc, this bug is definitely worth fixing.
Comment 3 Erik Xian 2010-04-19 01:09:28 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 131625 ***