After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 568882 - don't rely on gtk implementation details
don't rely on gtk implementation details
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: eog
Classification: Core
Component: general
unspecified
Other Linux
: Normal major
: ---
Assigned To: EOG Maintainers
EOG Maintainers
Depends on:
Blocks: 568886
 
 
Reported: 2009-01-23 17:39 UTC by Christian Persch
Modified: 2009-01-23 21:37 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: ---



Description Christian Persch 2009-01-23 17:39:36 UTC
./src/eog-window.c:	action = g_object_get_data (G_OBJECT (proxy), "gtk-action");
./cut-n-paste/toolbar-editor/egg-editable-toolbar.c:  action = g_object_get_data (G_OBJECT (widget), "gtk-action");
./cut-n-paste/toolbar-editor/egg-editable-toolbar.c:      action = g_object_get_data (G_OBJECT (widget), "gtk-action");
./cut-n-paste/toolbar-editor/egg-editable-toolbar.c:					 "gtk-action");

+++ This bug was initially created as a clone of Bug #568848 +++

While testing some GtkAction changes in GTK+ trunk, I've found that epiphany uses
g_object_get_data (widget, "gtk-action") to get at the action associated with a widget in some places. 

Please don't do that. We consider that undocumented object data an implementation detail, and it will go away at some point. Instead, use the documented api  for this: gtk_widget_get_action.
Comment 1 Felix Riemann 2009-01-23 21:37:25 UTC
Fixed, thanks for noticing. :-)

2009-01-23  Felix Riemann  <>

	* cut-n-paste/toolbar-editor/egg-editable-toolbar.c:
	(drag_begin_cb), (drag_end_cb), (configure_item_tooltip):
	Update to latest code from libegg to fix this.
	* src/eog-window.c: (menu_item_select_cb):
	Don't rely on GTK associating an action to its proxy widget using the
	"gtk-action" keyword. Fixes bug #568882 (Christian Persch).

This problem has been fixed in the development version. The fix will be available in the next major software release. Thank you for your bug report.