GNOME Bugzilla – Bug 333857
If no edits are available, combobox should be insensitive
Last modified: 2009-08-10 12:37:23 UTC
Clicking on the version combobox yields the already selected "Original" and an insensitive "(No edits)". The combobox should just be insensitive itself so users know there aren't any other possible selections.
Created attachment 66570 [details] [review] Online patch A one liner patch that disabled the Version drop down menu if there is no modifed versions. --- ../../f-spot/src/InfoBox.cs 2006-03-23 00:57:27.000000000 +0800 +++ src/InfoBox.cs 2006-06-01 11:22:46.000000000 +0800 @@ -272,7 +272,7 @@ public class InfoBox : VBox { photo.Time.ToShortDateString (), photo.Time.ToShortTimeString ()); #endif - version_option_menu.Sensitive = true; + version_option_menu.Sensitive = (photo.VersionIds.Length > 1); // Enable only if there are modified versions. PhotoVersionMenu menu = new PhotoVersionMenu (photo); menu.VersionIdChanged += new PhotoVersionMenu.VersionIdChangedHandler (HandleVersionIdChanged); menu.WidthRequest = version_option_menu.Allocation.Width;
I'd think I'd prefer to add a "Create new Version" item to the menu rather than just desensitizing it.
There are already a lot of ways to 'Create a new version'. Think about the 'Edit View', the 'Open With' popup, the 'Create new version' in the File menu... I don't think the user will need one more 'Create new Version' in the InfoBox. Plus, creating a new version without doing any edit on it is -almost- useless. My €.02, fot what it worth...
Maybe the other places are the wrong places, then. Don't discount UI ideas simply because there are other ways to get at them. Choose the best one and go with that. Note that I'm neither arguing for or against comment 2, simply trying to make sure this gets properly thought out.
i also think that combobox should be insensitive in that case : seems more intuitive to me (i was about to fill a similar bug report)
also think that it would allow to quickly know what picture has several versions (by selecting pictures one by one while you check the combobox). At present time, you can't.
Merge request for this here: http://gitorious.org/f-spot/mainline/merge_requests/1036
Even if I think Lary is right in comment #2, I pushed that patch for now.