After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 324125 - gnome-display-properties doesn't support rotation
gnome-display-properties doesn't support rotation
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: gnome-control-center
Classification: Core
Component: Display
git master
Other Linux
: Normal enhancement
: ---
Assigned To: Sven Herzberg
Control-Center Maintainers
: 338348 (view as bug list)
Depends on: 338468
Blocks:
 
 
Reported: 2005-12-14 22:01 UTC by Jorge Pérez Burgos
Modified: 2006-07-07 15:10 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: 2.15/2.16


Attachments
Add rotation support in gnome-display-properties (7.62 KB, patch)
2005-12-14 22:03 UTC, Jorge Pérez Burgos
none Details | Review
Add rotation support in gnome-display-properties with option hidden if it doesn't support it (8.92 KB, patch)
2005-12-14 22:05 UTC, Jorge Pérez Burgos
none Details | Review
display-properties-rotation.patch (11.32 KB, patch)
2006-04-01 16:07 UTC, Luca Cavalli
none Details | Review
display-properties-rotation-2.patch (11.36 KB, patch)
2006-04-07 22:54 UTC, Luca Cavalli
none Details | Review
Screenshot (20.44 KB, image/png)
2006-04-13 15:06 UTC, Sven Herzberg
  Details
New patch (5.67 KB, patch)
2006-04-13 15:22 UTC, Sven Herzberg
accepted-commit_now Details | Review

Description Jorge Pérez Burgos 2005-12-14 22:01:13 UTC
I only can rotate display on the fly in tabletpc's with xrandr -o right
To enable rotation on the fly add option XranRRotation "true" in xorg.conf and
the    graphic card and the driver card must support it.
Comment 1 Jorge Pérez Burgos 2005-12-14 22:03:30 UTC
Created attachment 56002 [details] [review]
Add rotation support in gnome-display-properties

This attachment add rotation support. When there's no rotations avaliable it
show normal value.
Comment 2 Jorge Pérez Burgos 2005-12-14 22:05:05 UTC
Created attachment 56003 [details] [review]
Add rotation support in gnome-display-properties with option hidden if it doesn't support it

Add rotation support in gnome-display-properties and hides the value when there
are no rotations avalaible.
Comment 3 Luca Cavalli 2006-04-01 16:07:57 UTC
Created attachment 62552 [details] [review]
display-properties-rotation.patch

I made a patch to add rotation support too :). After a quick look the two patches seem quite the same and both of them don't support reflections (but should be easy to add support also for this feature, just add two entry in an array). I attach it just because "I have it here" :). btw, my video card doesn't support rotations, so my patch isn't tested yet.
Comment 4 Luca Cavalli 2006-04-07 22:54:21 UTC
Created attachment 62958 [details] [review]
display-properties-rotation-2.patch

The patch should now work :)
Comment 5 Luca Cavalli 2006-04-13 14:37:16 UTC
*** Bug 338348 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 6 Sven Herzberg 2006-04-13 15:06:39 UTC
Created attachment 63393 [details]
Screenshot

Screenshot of the dialog with my patch (will post an updated version in a minute).
Comment 7 Sven Herzberg 2006-04-13 15:22:11 UTC
Created attachment 63394 [details] [review]
New patch

This patch is tested, doesn't use the deprecated GtkOptionMenu and makes the menu insensitive if there's no supported rotation (or only one). I'd prefer to use sensitivity to indicate whether something's available or not.

Sorry for having two patches now, I just wanted to get the display rotation running reliable before submitting my patch.
Comment 8 Luca Cavalli 2006-04-13 15:25:47 UTC
I found that also my video card supports rotation after having added an option to xorg.conf, so my patch took some testing too :)
Comment 9 Luca Cavalli 2006-04-13 20:51:32 UTC
Sven,
using a GtkComboBox instead of the old and deprecated GtkOptionMenu will introduce a user interface inconsistency, since both 'Resolution' and 'Refresh rate' use a different widget, which, once opened, renders in a different way the popup menu. Better to keep the GtkOptionMenu for now and then file another bug to migrate to GtkComboBox, isn't it?
Comment 10 Sven Herzberg 2006-04-14 10:45:19 UTC
Not it is not. Because this way we migrate two widgets only, not three. BTW, I'm almost done with the patch for the other two.
Comment 11 Sven Herzberg 2006-04-14 13:36:02 UTC
Depend on bug 338468 for the GtkComboBox API
Comment 12 Sebastien Bacher 2006-07-07 09:01:27 UTC
Comment on attachment 63394 [details] [review]
New patch

>+	gchar* text = gtk_combo_box_get_active_text (GTK_COMBO_BOX (screen_info->rotate_widget));
>+	Rotation rot = display_rotation_from_text (text);

Same comment as your other patch, declaration and init should better not be done on the same line :)

>-      new_res = get_current_resolution (screen_info);
>+      new_res  = get_current_resolution (screen_info);

Is that a spacing change? ;)


>+  /* it makes no sense to support only selection one element */
>+  gtk_widget_set_sensitive (optionmenu,
>+		  gtk_tree_model_iter_n_children (gtk_combo_box_get_model (combo), NULL) > 1);

What optionmenu is that?


Out of those small notes it looks fine, feel free to commit after doing the required small changes for that :)
Comment 13 Sven Herzberg 2006-07-07 15:10:37 UTC
2006-07-07  Sven Herzberg  <herzi@gnome-de.org>

        * capplets/display/main.c: added rotation support;
        Closes: #324125