After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 172453 - Entry completion on page entry area
Entry completion on page entry area
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: evince
Classification: Core
Component: general
git master
Other Linux
: Normal enhancement
: ---
Assigned To: Jonathan Blandford
Jonathan Blandford
Depends on: 131916
Blocks:
 
 
Reported: 2005-04-02 18:32 UTC by Bryan W Clark
Modified: 2005-04-08 05:31 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: ---


Attachments
Image of completion (37.09 KB, image/png)
2005-04-02 21:42 UTC, Jonathan Blandford
  Details
quick patch to implement this. (14.29 KB, patch)
2005-04-02 21:56 UTC, Jonathan Blandford
none Details | Review

Description Bryan W Clark 2005-04-02 18:32:29 UTC
Feature Request.

Allow the page entry area to auto-complete on page numbers and index information
(if available). 

I'll be attaching a mockup of what I'm talking about.
Comment 1 Bryan W Clark 2005-04-02 18:34:06 UTC
Well, how about just a link instead of an attachment

http://www.gnome.org/~clarkbw/designs/document-viewer/entry%20completion.png
Comment 2 Jonathan Blandford 2005-04-02 21:42:48 UTC
Created attachment 39604 [details]
Image of completion

Attaching the image for posterities sake
Comment 3 Jonathan Blandford 2005-04-02 21:55:29 UTC
I half wrote this patch, until I ran into trouble with GtkEntryCompletion.  I'm
going to attach the patch I started in case anyone else wants to take it up.  It
needs some work before committing.  In particular:

1) The liberal use of g_object_set_data() is pretty ugly, and hard to use.  It
would make more sense to return a custom widget instead of an HBox for the proxy.

2) I obviously need a better filter function than gtk_true() (-;  I was going to
write this, but was mildly disheartened by sizing issues.

3) We need to keep a GtkPageCache around for the proxy widget.

4) Clean up the iter conversion code.  It's quick-n-dirty right now.

Anyway, if anyone wants to pick this up, that would be great.  It'd be cool to
put it in.
Comment 4 Jonathan Blandford 2005-04-02 21:56:28 UTC
Created attachment 39605 [details] [review]
quick patch to implement this.

Initial broken patch
Comment 5 Jonathan Blandford 2005-04-08 05:31:07 UTC
I finished this off, and gaurded it with an:
if (! gtk_check_version (2, 7, 0) { ... };
so that it will only occur with the next GTK+.  Hopefully it will work well - I
haven't fully tested that yet as GTK+-HEAD doesn't build right now./