After an evaluation, GNOME has moved from Bugzilla to GitLab. Learn more about GitLab.
No new issues can be reported in GNOME Bugzilla anymore.
To report an issue in a GNOME project, go to GNOME GitLab.
Do not go to GNOME Gitlab for: Bluefish, Doxygen, GnuCash, GStreamer, java-gnome, LDTP, NetworkManager, Tomboy.
Bug 171918 - Tasklist show (wrongly) window with _NET_WM_STATE_SKIP_TASKBAR set.
Tasklist show (wrongly) window with _NET_WM_STATE_SKIP_TASKBAR set.
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 106249
Product: libwnck
Classification: Core
Component: tasklist
unspecified
Other Linux
: Normal normal
: ---
Assigned To: libwnck maintainers
libwnck maintainers
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
 
Reported: 2005-03-28 22:15 UTC by Jochen Baier
Modified: 2005-03-29 14:29 UTC
See Also:
GNOME target: ---
GNOME version: ---



Description Jochen Baier 2005-03-28 22:15:46 UTC
Distribution/Version: Fedora Core 3

if a window with _NET_WM_STATE_SKIP_TASKBAR set appeares (map) the taskbar add
this window cause it does not check for this property (only if a client send
this to the root window, but this is ugly cause of a race condition between the
client and the taskbar)

so in my opinion the code below should work [and not show the window in the list.]



#include <X11/Xlib.h>
#include <X11/Xutil.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <X11/Xatom.h>

//gcc -o test test.c -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lX11

int
main (int argc, char *argv[])
{

  Window window;
  Display *display;

  display = XOpenDisplay(NULL);
  
  window=XCreateSimpleWindow(display, 
    RootWindow (display, 0), 1, 1, 100, 100, 0, 0, 0);
  
  Atom net_wm_state_skip_taskbar=XInternAtom (display, 
    "_NET_WM_STATE_SKIP_TASKBAR", False);
  Atom net_wm_state = XInternAtom (display, 
    "_NET_WM_STATE", False);

   XChangeProperty (display, window, net_wm_state,
     XA_ATOM, 32, PropModeAppend,
     (unsigned char *)&net_wm_state_skip_taskbar, 1);

  XMapWindow (display, window);
  XSync(display, False);
     
  sleep (10);
  
  return 0;
  
}
Comment 1 Elijah Newren 2005-03-28 22:23:05 UTC
This has been fixed.  :)

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 106249 ***
Comment 2 Jochen Baier 2005-03-28 23:13:33 UTC
where ? ;)

libwnck newest cvs: "test-tasklist" show the window...
Comment 3 Elijah Newren 2005-03-28 23:36:38 UTC
Not if you're using the recent version of Metacity, it doesn't...

(note that bug 106249 was filed against Metacity, so this was a metacity bug,
not a libwnck one.  If you update Metacity, you'll see this bug go away)
Comment 4 Jochen Baier 2005-03-29 14:29:41 UTC
yes it works now, thanks